The general outrage at the change and subsequent flight of users to other messaging apps, such as Telegram and Signal, led the platform to delaying the deadline from February until this weekend. However, this was only to allow its users to review the new privacy policies at their own pace — not to modify them.
"For the last several weeks we've displayed a notification in WhatsApp providing more information about the update. After giving everyone time to review, we're continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept. After a period of several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent," WhatsApp wrote on its official page.
The platform, owned by Facebook, clarified that no account will be deleted for those who refuse to accept the new guidelines.
However, WhatsApp will limit its functions, although it clarifies that "this will not happen to all users at the same time":
- You will no longer be able to send or receive messages.
- It will not allow you to enter your chat list
- You will not be able to answer missed calls or video calls
Although you will be able to receive calls and notifications and respond to messages, after a few weeks you will not have these functions. During this period, the application will keep reminding you that it is important to accept the new privacy conditions if you want to fully use WhatsApp.
Nothing comes between you and your privacy. Messaging with a business is optional, and their chats are clearly labeled on the app. You are in control.- WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) February 18, 2021
For more information, please read: https://t.co/55r1Qxv2Wi pic.twitter.com/HswXxRylHo
Can I accept the WhatsApp update after May 15?
Yes. Just open the application and wait to see the notice about the new settings. Once you accept, you'll recover all of WhatsApp's functions.
Can I lose my WhatsApp account?
WhatsApp's policy states that inactive user accounts "are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity." So if you take too long to authorize or stop connecting, you could lose your conversations, photos, backups and more. If you later decide to reinstall it, you will only be able to recover the little that has been stored on your device.
What are the changes that WhatsApp wants me to accept?
Part of the new guidelines is the display of ads on WhatsApp and that users can contact businesses on the platform faster compared to phone or email.
"Your acceptance of the new Terms of Service does not expand WhatsApp’s ability to share user data with its parent company Facebook," WhatsApp wrote on its website.
"Our commitment to your privacy isn’t changing. Your personal conversations are still protected by end-to-end encryption, which means no one outside of your chats, not even WhatsApp or Facebook, can read or listen to them."