Last January, WhatsApp announced a controversial update to its terms and conditions, highlighting changes in privacy. Now, users would agree to share WhatsApp data with Facebook for commercial purposes, among other details.
- It may interest you: WhatsApp: Everything you need to know before accepting or not accepting its new privacy policies
What would happen if I don't update WhatsApp?
Supposedly, those who did not give the 'ok' to the change would gradually lose some functions such as:
- You will no longer be able to send or receive messages.
- It will not allow you to enter your chat list
- You will not be able to answer missed calls or video calls
The rest of the functions, like answering messages or receiving calls and notifications , would also be lost after a few weeks. Although the platform clarified that the accounts would not be deleted, the app would be so limited that it would be unusable.
- Also read: WhatsApp already allows you to increase the speed of audios and they remind you with memes that Telegram did it before
This threat made millions of WhatsApp users around the world accept the changes in a timely manner. But now it turns out that it wasn't so necessary after all.
Not always ...
The application owned by Facebook took a step back and announced on its official page that you can continue to enjoy all the functions even if you do not accept the new policies.
"No user account will be removed or access to WhatsApp features will be removed on May 15 due to this update," reads the platform's question and answer section.
Of course, from time to time a notice will appear to update, which you can simply reject.
* checks calendar. pours coffee *. OKAY. Let's do this. No, we can't see your personal messages. No, we won't delete your account. Yes, you can accept at any time.- WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) May 14, 2021
"Ok, let's do this. No, we can't see your personal messages. No, we won't delete your account. Yes, you can accept at any time," the platform wrote on Twitter on May 14.
One theory about why WhatsApp reconsidered about it is that several governments disagree with its new policy and have announced restrictions in case the company insists on the plan.
In conclusion, if you have already accepted the changes, the decision is irreversible; And if you haven't, you can rest assured, your account is safe and you won't lose WhatsApp functions.