Uber

Before You Delete Your Account, Uber Wants You to Know It's 'Deeply Hurting'

As the company suffers blow after blow to its reputation, users are deleting the app.
Before You Delete Your Account, Uber Wants You to Know It's 'Deeply Hurting'
Image credit: Uber | Shutterstock
2 min read

This article has been updated to reflect new information from Uber as well as additional information about who this message was sent to. 

Suffice to say, people are angry with Uber, and things aren't getting better.

A few weeks ago, people boycotted the company after Uber provided rides at New York's JFK airport during a taxi strike over President Donald Trump’s immigration ban. More than 200,000 people got rid of the Uber app and the #DeleteUber hashtag began trending on Twitter. Then, anger boiled again over Uber CEO Travis Kalanick's position on Trump’s advisory board. He eventually quit the board.

Now, after former employee Susan Fowler Rigetti published a detailed blog post about the sexual harassment and discrimination she allegedly experienced at the company, people began deleting the ride sharing-app again. As more and more employees have spoken out about the alleged poor working conditions, Uber’s customer base is dwindling … and the company is getting desperate.

In fact, it’s “deeply hurting” -- and it wants you to know. For anyone deleting the app in response to the recent controversy, Uber created a special script resulting in an explanation of the company's position on this developing issue.

Avoiding an apology at all costs, the company says that "what [Fowler] describes is abhorrent and against everything Uber stands for and believes in." The message also goes on to explain the extent in which the company is conducting an investigation led by Uber lobbyist and former U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder and Uber board member Arianna Huffington.

This story was originally reported by Mashable.

UPDATE: After publication an Uber spokeswoman reached out to inform Entrepreneur that the message reached less than 40 people and is no longer being deployed.

My Queue

There are no Videos in your queue.

Click on the Add to next to any video to save to your queue.

There are no Articles in your queue.

Click on the Add to next to any article to save to your queue.

There are no Podcasts in your queue.

Click on the Add to next to any podcast episode to save to your queue.

You're not following any authors.

Click the Follow button on any author page to keep up with the latest content from your favorite authors.

Uber Will Pay Drivers in Some Cities to Use Electric Cars